From the Netherlands with regards come Juju and Jordash with their pleasantly surprising 5th album Sis-Boom-Bah! Club hits you’d expert to hear from a House duo like this are no where to be found on this album. It’s all about spacey techno and abstract compositions– suited more for a relaxing afternoon than a dance floor. The change of pace is welcome.

Release Date: 10/11/2017 on Dekmantel

Veteran instrumentalist, composer and general legend in the world of electronic music, Four Tet, has released his 15th album New Energy on his own label TEXT. How this guy continues to evolve and innovate after fifteen albums is a testament to his genius. So how does new Four Tet sound? Kind of like the old Four Tet, actually; a bridge between the accessibility of his early works like “Pause” and more recent experiments in dance floor debauchery. From the harpsichord arrangement on “Two Thousand Seventeen” to the hypnotic thump of “Lush” — there is just so much “yes” to this album, it must be heard.

Release Date: 9/29/2017 on TEXT Records

How often can we judge an album by its’ cover? Mysterious. Familiar. Static. Change. Do these words evoke a particular place or musical genre? For Zach Saginaw’s third full length album The New Monday, it’s all about his hometown of Detroit. Jazz, techno, house, hip hop… a collage of the City’s musical culture glued for mass appeal with that signature Shigeto sound. Soothing.

Release Date: 10/3/2017 on Ghostly International

Place a track from Mount Kimbie’s 3rd full-length, like “Audition”, next to something from their 2011 debut, such as “Carbonated”, and you’d be surprised to learn it’s by the same group. From post-dubstep beat music to something ostensibly more 80’s new wave, and much less like electronic music in general, one wonders what Mount Kimbie will do next. So are they a band now? They certainly sound like one, but the influence of their roots remains clear with tracks like “We Go Home Together” featuring James Blake, “T.A.M.E.D.”, and “Marylin”. It’s still electronic at heart, beautifully composed, wonderfully evolved.

Release Date: 9/8/2017 on Warp Records

When only the purest techno house will satisfy your cravings, choose Kölsch. 1989 is the final album in an autobiographical trilogy of LPs on Kompakt, described as “an exploration of the Danish producer’s difficult early teenage years.” Tracks like “Liath” and “Khairo” are richly layered by The Heritage Orchestra to become serenely hypnotic. It’s Grade A dance music; the drops are restrained, no glitches, and distorted vocal gimmicks are lack thereof. Even a casual listener will be unable to resist.

Release Date: 9/22/2017 on Kompakt

More of the same from Odesza, but it’s sure to ignite their fan base regardless. A Moment Apart, the third full length album from the Seattle based electronic duo, features the same distorted EDM and chopped-up House that’s made them who they are. Incessant head bangers like “Late Night” and “La Cuidad” nearly make up for the half-baked boredom in between every other track. It’s just too much epic non-sense.

Release Date: 9/17/2017 on Counter Records

The lines between techno and electro-pop continue to blur on the fourth studio album from Jeff McIlwain, aka Lusine. “The concept behind Sensorimotor pulls from a special kind of double meaning of the word,” McIlwain recently noted. Beginning with “Canopy”, an opener seethed in wind chimes and harmonic distortion, the album moves on to more synth heavy, progressive dance tracks like “Slow Motion”, “The Level”, and “Flyway.” This is the stuff that Lusine has made a name for himself producing, and he should stick to it. As a whole, Sensorimotor’s mix of vocals with intelligent dance music keeps the listener in limbo, doing many things well but nothing really great.

Release Date: 3/3/2017 on Ghostly International

Another strong album from British electronic musician Chris Clark; his eighth studio release since his musical debut in 2001. Death Peak is just under 45 minutes of varied techno styles mixed with wonderfully progressive ambient compositions. Glittering melodies on tracks like “Living Fantasy” and “Peak Magnetic”, alongside the washed out vocal elements of “Catastrophe Anthem” give the album a less foreboding feel than some of Clark’s previous works.

Release Date: 4/7/2017
on Warp Records

British electronic musician Darren Cunningham, better known as Actress, returns from early retirement with his densely progressive fifth full-length album AZD. Pronounced “azid,” the album features many songs over 5 minutes and deserves multiple go rounds. Songs like “RUNNER” and “FANTASYNTH”, with their incessant repetition and varied minimalism, paint a vivid picture of a mechanical paradise where robots do the robot. It’s deeply hypnotic and amazing.

Release Date: April 14, 2017 on Warp Records

Remix albums are easy to ignore, so let’s start at the beginning. Félicité is an award-winning film centered around the vibrant music scene of Kinshasa, capital of the Democratic Republic of Congo. The backing band for the lead character in this movie are the Kasai Allstars, a well known act from the region known for mixing traditional sounds with what has been described as “Congotronics”. Félicité Remixes features reworks of the original motion picture soundtrack by electronic composers such as Clap! Clap!, Daedelus, Loopido, High Wolf and more. It casts a wide net, with heavy new wave connotations on tracks like “Drowning Goat” to more dub reggae influence on the title cut #5, to even more background noise on title cut # 7.

Release Date: 3/31/2017 on Crammed Discs